What other goodies that I made for CNY…

My dear husband and I love pineapple tarts and it is a must have for CNY. He loves the closed up one and I loved the opened one so what to do but to make both. And my elder boy was telling me, it is the year of the rabbit, let’s make the rabbit ones as well after seeing some photos on the web with rabbit pineapple tarts.

We do not like outside tarts as the pineapples paste are too sweet and without the spices taste and all of us enjoy those that melt in the mouth. And it was rather nice to stay in the kitchen to cook my pineapple paste and think about how we used to make this tart back home in the past with my aunt and my mum.

So we have different pineapple tarts this year by the requests of the man and boy of the house.

And what is CNY when one cannot enjoy the yummy bak kwa (Pork Jerky)? My elder boy again asked me whether I were going to make bak kwa. He kept telling me, during CNY, must eat bak kwa. So when I asked him one morning whether he preferred me to bake Kueh Bangkit or Bak Kwa, he told me straight, Bak Kwa though he enjoyed Kueh Bangkit very much too. So we made our Bak Kwa again this year, since being away, I have been making my own Bak Kwa for the fourth year this time.

My bak kwa recipe can be found here.

Leave a comment