Peanut Cookies

For the past one week, I have been skyping with my mum and I was telling her I miss all the Chinese New Year goodies back home. I was telling her I planned to bake pineapple tarts a couple of days before the Chinese New Year and she suggested why don’t I start baking peanut cookies first so that my boys have a few different cookies for the New Year.

I had baked this with my mum before when we used a mini-oven to bake, and she recalled the recipe and I wrote it down on paper and tried baking it earlier. It turned out so yummy that both my boys could not stop eating it and then followed by my dear husband.

Here’s the simple and yummy recipe for peanut cookies:

Ingredients:
300g groundnuts (peanuts)
275g flour
200g raw sugar
1tsp salt
225g canola oil (can use ghee or butter or oil by frying pig’s oil)
1 egg (For glazing)

Method:

1. Stir-fry or roast the groundnut till fragnant and not burnt by keep stirring. Leave it aside to cool.

2. Grind all the groundnuts into a food-blender till fine before it turn into peanut butter.

3. Mix all the dry ingredients groundnuts, flour, sugar and salt together in a mixing bowl till crumbly by using a spoon or fingertips.

4. Add in the oil small portion by small portion and knead the mixture together.

5. Add oil and knead till the sugar all melted and the mixture become smooth and shiny. And when you roll the mixture into small ball, it does not crumbles, you can stop adding in the oil.

6. Preheat oven to 200 degree Celius. Then roll the mixture into small balls and place them on parchement paper on baking tray.

7. Glaze with egg-wash before baking.

8. Bake in preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes.

Leave a comment